Track Title Length
1 00 - Advertisment 3:31
2 01 - The Rime of the Ancyent Marinere 21:24
3 02 - The Foster Mother's Tale 4:17
4 03 - Lines left upon a Seat in a Yew-tree which stands near the Lake of Esthwaite 3:23
5 04 - The Nightingale 5:59
6 05 - The Female Vagrant 12:44
7 06 - Goody Blake and Harry Gill 4:48
8 07 - Lines written at a small distance from my House and sent by my little Boy to the Person to whom they are addressed 1:52
9 08 - Simon Lee the old Huntsman 3:55
10 09 - Anecdote for Fathers 2:31
11 10 - We Are Seven 2:35
12 11 - Lines Written In Early Spring 1:25
13 12 - The Thorn 9:11
14 13 - The Last of the Flock 3:42
15 14 - The Dungeon 1:41
16 15 - The Mad Mother 3:50
17 16 - The Idiot Boy 16:39
18 17 - Lines written near Richmond upon the Thames at Evening 2:16
19 18 - Expostulation and Reply 1:32
20 19 - The Tables turned; an Evening Scene on the same subject 1:35
21 20 - Old Man Travelling 1:23
22 21 - The Complaint of a forsaken Indian Woman 3:50
23 22 - The Convict 2:41
24 23 - Lines written a few miles above Tintern Abbey 7:29

Book Coordinator: Verity Kendall
Meta Coordinator: Ruth Golding
Proof Listener: Carmen H.

Cover: Portrait of Samuel Taylor Coleridge, 1795, by Peter Vandyke. Portrait of William Wordsworth, 1798, by William Shuter.
Inset: Frontispiece to the first edition of Lyrical Ballads, 1798
Inset: Illustration “The Albatross” by Gustave Dore for 1876 edition of the Rime of the Ancient Mariner
Insert: Background image: Illustration “The Albatross” by Gustave Dore for 1876 edition of the Rime of the Ancient Mariner

Lyrical Ballads, with a Few Other Poems is a landmark collection of poems by William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge published in 1798 that marked the beginning of the Romantic Movement in English literature. The authors sought to find a voice rooted in the simple, everyday language and experience of the common man and by doing so upend the stilted, studied and highly structured forms of 18th century English poetry. Their intent is reflected in the title: “lyrical” refers to the tradition of the rustic bard, and “ballads” is the term for folk songs that convey stories in the oral tradition. The departure from tradition is reflected in the subject matter as well, with its focus on simple, unlettered country people closer to the original state of nature and, by implication, a more pure and innocent existence as propounded by Rousseau. The initial 1798 edition contained 24 poems, 4 by Coleridge and 20 by Wordsworth, and an “Advertisement” setting out the poetical concept. A second edition in 1800 contained a preface and assembled the original poems less “The Convict” in Volume I and added a Volume II consisting of an additional 38 poems by Wordsworth.

Play sample:

Download a PDF datasheet

Item Info
EAN 0701236969573
Media MP3 CD
Package DVD case
Author William Wordsworth & Samuel Taylor Coleriddge
Read by Multiple readers
Length 2 hours and 4 minutes

Write a review

Please login or register to review

Lyrical Ballads, With A Few Other Poems (1798)

  • $9.99

Available Options

Related Products

The Wild Swans at Coole

The Wild Swans at Coole

The Wild Swans at Coole is a lyric poem by W. B. Yeats as well as the title of collections ..


A Shropshire Lad

A Shropshire Lad

The sixty-three short poems that constitute A Shropshire Lad conjure a pastoral countryside that i..